The Golden Globes and I Are Back. No Surprise?

11 Jan

Hi, long time no see. I’m glad to be back. I didn’t think it would happen. The past 7-8 weeks have brought some tumult in my life, too much for my comfort level, so I had to let a thing or two go and just deal with what was right in front of me. I will say right up front that my Oscar coverage will be limited this year. I know I will not be posting about the nominees this Thursday due to commitments beyond my control; however, I have already started writing columns about some of my favorite movies.

In the meantime, here are highlights from the Globes:

Picture 3

Best Supporting Actor in a Motion Picture: J.K. Simmons (Whiplash) Yay! These days, I have to really plan in order to go to a theatre to see a movie, and Whiplash, in which he plays a relentless conductor, is one that has eluded me. I hope Simmons’ award buzz keeps this one in theatres awhile longer. I’ve been a Simmons fan for quite awhile thanks to his TV series work, such as Law & Order and The Closer. I’ve got my fingers crossed for him to continue his roll with an Oscar nomination–at least.

Picture 5

Best Supporting Actress in a Motion Picture: Patricia Arquette (Boyhood) – Committing to a project 12 years in the making is huge, and Arquette has earned the best reviews of her career. She’s on her way.

Picture 6

Best Director of a Motion Picture: Richard Linklater (Boyhood) – I don’t know why I can’t get excited about this movie, but I am happy that the Texas native is doing so well this season. Certainly, filming a movie over 12 years says a lot about his vision, determination, and ability to persuade.

Picture 4

Best Actress in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy: Amy Adams (Big Eyes) – Adams follows her Oscar nominated and Golden Globe winning role in 2013’s American Hustle with this Tim Burton biopic about the strange career of painter Margaret Keane, whose paintings of waifish, big eyed children became pop-culture sensations in the 1960s though Keane reluctantly allowed her business savvy husband to assume all the credit until after their divorce, at which point a lawsuit with a startling twist ensued. I liked Big Eyes, and I’m happy for Adams’s success, but the film may be a wee bit quirky for Oscar voters’ tastes. I’m not sure she’s a lock; after all, she did not make the cut for the Screen Actors Guild award.

Picture 7

Best Actor in a Motion Picture, Musical or Comedy – Michael Keaton (Birdman) – Is Birdman really a comedy? Yes, I laughed, but I don’t know that it was “Ha-ha funny” as the old saw goes. Still, the role of an actor trying to reinvent himself as serious thesp decades after walking away from a super-hero franchise seems tailor made for the versatile actor who achieved superstar status after playing Batman in two films in the late 1980s and early 1990s.

Picture 8

Best Actress in a Motion Picture Drama: Julianne Moore (Still Alice) – What a year it’s been for Moore, what with the Cannes Best Actress award for Maps to the Stars and, now, Still Alice. She actually earned Globe nominations for both films (one comedy, one drama). Unless she splits votes with herself, she’ll likely score a nod for Still Alice, in which she plays a linguistics professor with early onset Alzheimer’s.

Picture 9

Best Actor in a Motion Picture Drama : Eddie Redmayne (The Theory of Everything) – Good for Redmayne. He’s been working toward major stardom ever since the likes of My Week with Marilyn and Les Miserables. His performance as physicist Stephen Hawking, who has persevered, no thrived, in spite of ALS, is transformative. Even so, I was rooting for Benedict Cumberbatch as WWII code cracker, and father of modern computing, Alan Turing in The Imitation Game. No matter, get ready for a showdown between Redmayne and Keaton with David Oyelowo as Martin Luther King Jr in Selma waiting in the wings.

Picture 11

Best Motion Picture Musical or Comedy: The Grand Budapest Hotel. Texas filmmaker Wes Anderson moves closer to Oscar glory, just two years after his delightful Moonrise Kingdom. This was one of the first truly heralded movies of 2014, and it was released as far back as March, but now it’s racking up awards. Oh, and between Anderson and Linklater, what a great night for Texas filmmakers!

Picture 13

Best Motion Picture Drama: Boyhood. Like The Grand Budapest Hotel. this movie has been in play for several months. Right now, it looks like the Oscar favorite, but I think latecomer Selma has the best opportunity to generate momentum.

 

Thanks for your consideration. I’ll be back.

 

 

2 Responses to “The Golden Globes and I Are Back. No Surprise?”

  1. Vivian 12 January 2015 at 9:53 am #

    Whiplash was fabulous. I liked Boyhood and it was long, but it took 12 years to film so I’ll cut it some slack, Eddie Redmayne was great but better than the film itself. I’ll stop there…

    • listen2uraunt 12 January 2015 at 10:38 pm #

      Viv, I agree about Redmayne. He’s great, but the movie leaves something to be desired. Again, I much prefer Benedict Cumberbatch (The Imitation Game) OR Jack O’Connell (Unbroken), but I don’t know if that film has the needed traction.

Leave a Reply

