On Golden Fonda

1 Aug

Turner Classic Movies is running Jane Fonda movies all day (Friday, August 1) as a prelude to a repeat of the summer’s earlier AFI tribute to the two-time Academy award winning actress, producer, activist, and feminist icon. As such, I feel the need to repost this piece as well. Enjoy!

Confessions of a Movie Queen

I’m rushing to complete this piece before TNT airs Jane Fonda’s American Film Institute Life Achievement Award celebration sometime this month; the tribute was taped less than a week ago. I’ll probably skip the TV program. Oh, I’ve watched these annual shindigs from time to time going all the way back to the 70s when Bette Davis, James Cagney, Orson Welles, and Alfred Hitchcock were honored, but for some reason the last several tributes have seemed extremely edited, to force the fun factor, and that bothers me. Besides, I don’t need the AFI, necessarily, to remind me how much I love the films of Jane Fonda or to help me remember my favorites.

When I was a wee thing, I thought Jane Fonda too gorgeous for words. Truthfully, if I saw any of her movies at that time, it would have likely been Barefoot in the Park (1967), co-starring the…

View original post 4,924 more words

Leave a Reply

