Oscars 2013/14: Fashion Gallery

8 Mar

Well, that’s another one for the history books. Sure was fun. Let’s do it again next year, especially if host Ellen DeGeneres is back on board. Oh, did you hear the good news? The telecast was a smash, what with Ellen’s twitter crashing tweet, and reportedly the highest ratings for an entertainment show since the 2004 Friends series finale (that is opposed to a sports related show). Well, it’s easy enough to figure out why audiences tuned in, and it’s not just about Ellen, but the fact that there was abundant interest in many of the high-profile nominees: McConaughey, DiCaprio, Bullock, Lawrence, and Nyong’o, who seemingly came out of nowhere to become the darling of the red carpet during the latest round of awards shows. Plus, there’s always Brad and Angelina. Mr. Pitt scored as one of the producers of Best Picture winner 12 Years a Slave with Ms. Jolie recognized as the most recent recipient of the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian award. Technically, Jolie was officially honored at a ceremony last fall though footage of the event was shown, and Jolie co-presented the Best Director trophy with living legend Sidney Poitier. Additionally, musical performances by Idina Menzel, from the crowd pleasing Frozen, Pharrell Williams, U2, Pink, and Bette Midler also served as huge draws. Of course, no three  and half hour awards show runs without a hitch, but this was still a fun way to spend a Sunday night, definitely an improvement over last year’s Seth McFarlane edition which was all over the place (though not a flat-out disappointment).

Now, about that luxe fashion parade. I have two rules: I don’t promote designers in my version of Oscar’s fashion gallery because I think it’s tacky for well paid actors and actresses to reduce themselves to living billboards for the sake of free clothes–loaners only to boot. Anyway, since these folks have already secured their end of the deal (or deals), there’s no reason for me to jump on the bandwagon. My other rule is that I only feature the fashions that I actually like. I’d rather spotlight the positive than the negative and leave the nastiness to someone else since my belief is that even some of the more unfortunate choices were made by people who really believed they looked pretty or handsome, and who am I to argue with that. Oh, and I’ve included a few of the men this time in contrast to last year’s gallery.

Most of what follows is not in any given order, except, well, the first three. Those are probably my three faves. Now, without further ado…

lupita-nyongog-oscar-2014-look-2

1. Best Supporting Actress winner Lupita Nyong’o (12 Years a Slave), magnificent in “Nairobi blue”

JenLaw at Oscars2014

2. Best Supporting Actress nominee Jennifer Lawrence (American Hustle)

elle-oscars-2014-red-carpet-looks-sandra-bullock-v-lgn

3. Best Actress nominee Sandra Bullock (Gravity)

Penelope-Cruz-Oscars-2014

Penelope Cruz

P!NK

Singer Pink sparkles just like those magical ruby slippers as she performs “Over the Rainbow” during The Wizard of Oz tribute

Jennifer-Garner-dress-2014-Oscars

^ Jennifer Garner

June Squibb

Best Supporting Actress nominee June Squibb (Nebraska)

 

olivia_wilde_OSCARS

Olivia Wilde

Angelina

Angelina Jolie, winner of the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian award

julia-roberts-oscar-verleihung-2014-academy-awards-roter-teppich

Best Supporting Actress nominee Julia Roberts (August: Osage County)

KateHudsonOscar2014

Kate Hudson

Charlize-Theron-Oscars-2014

Charlize Theron

Jim Carrey

Jim Carrey

Pharrell Williams

Pharrell Williams brings down the house as he performs his Oscar nominated song “Happy” (from Despicable Me 2). Mr. Williams’s hat attracts a lot of media attention, but I’m actually wild for his bright red shoes.

Matthew Mc and Jared

Best Actor Matthew McConaughey (l) and Best Supporting Actor Jared Leto (r), both of Dallas Buyers Club, share fashion sense as well as Oscar victories. Nice touch, guys.

One more…

Ellen as Glinda

Host Ellen DeGeneres as The Wizard of Oz’s Glinda the Good Witch. Ellen, we love you. Don’t ever change, and please come back next year.

Please feel free to add your comments about this year’s “Best Dressed.”

Thanks for your consideration…

2 Responses to “Oscars 2013/14: Fashion Gallery”

  1. Lezlie K King 09 March 2014 at 1:27 pm #

    I enjoyed the Oscars even though for the first time ever I had not seen a single nominee. And I’m not just talking about the major awards…I went all the way through the technical awards, too. I guess it’s been a slow movie going year for me.

    As to the fashion, Mark’s favorite was Jennifer Garner. He’s been a sucker for a woman in a shimmy dress ever since he watched his first Beach Blanket movie & caught sight of Candy Johnson. I have a shimmy dress that I drag out for a cruise every once in a while, but it is incredibly heavy & rather hot for a tropical vacation. Plus I can’t make all the fringe stand on end at the same time like Ms. Johnson did.

    My favorites in no particular order…I liked all the lace on Julia Roberts (Mark groaned & called it too matronly)…Kate Hudson, she’s such a knockout…Loved the geometric lines of Lady Gaga’s dress…Kerry Washington was gorgeous even though she’s big as a house pregnant at this point (we loved how fast her hand kept popping up when Ellen was asking who wanted pizza)…And Cate Blanchett, even though it looked a bit like big popcorn glued on it from a distance more than petals of some sort, I still dug it.

    But no one has topped my All-Time Favorite Dress & probably never will because I thought it was so incredibly fabulous…Halle Berry’s dress the year she won for Monster’s Ball.

    • listen2uraunt 10 March 2014 at 8:05 am #

      Hi Lezlie,
      Both Jennifer Garner and Julia Roberts made my faves list as you can see. I especially thought Roberts was a knockout though I know both she and Garner have taken some heat. Not here. Now, I’ll need to do some research to name an all-time favorite though I always come back to Grace Kelly’s for starters. Okay, technically, that was before my time but still a classic, and you’re right, Berry’s gown when she won for Monster’s Ball was fab.

Leave a Reply

